Marijuana Crimes

Different states across the nation have different laws regarding drug crimes. Marijuana, in particular, is one of the most controversial, illegal substances in the United States. Some states have legalized it for medicinal purposes, although the majority has not. Some states base the severity of punishment on the amount of marijuana found on the offender while others base the punishment on the age of the offender.

The state of Nevada has legalized marijuana for medical use, has decriminalized the substance, and penalizes violators based on their ages and not on how much cannabis they have on person when caught.

Possession of Marijuana

An offender will be charged with possession of marijuana if he or she caught by a law enforcement officer with this illegal substance, and without medical proof that it was prescribed to treat a physical ailment. 

Because Nevada punishes criminals based on their age, all offenders under 21 years old will be charged with a Class E felony, no matter how much marijuana they possessed when caught. They will face penalties of 1-4 years in jail and a $5,000 fine.

READ ALSO:  Medical Marijuana: A Real Hot Potato

Offenders over age 21 will be charged with a misdemeanor for their first and second offenses. They face submission to a treatment program and fines of up to $1,000. Third time offenders will be charged with gross misdemeanor, and they face 1 year of jail time and a fine of up to $2,000. Finally, fourth time offenders will be charged with a Class E felony, which is punishable by 1-4 years in jail and a fine of up to $5,000.

Sale and Cultivation of Marijuana

The sale and cultivation of marijuana is punished depending on the number of convictions the offender has previously had and on the amount of the substance for sale. All sale and cultivation offenses are charged as felonies, but their penalties vary depending on each situation.

The sale of less than 100 pounds of marijuana will result in up to 15 years of jail time, depending on the number of prior offenses, and a fine of $20,000. The sale of 100-2,000 pounds will be punished by 5 years in prison and a fine of $25,000. Finally, the sale of over 2,000 pounds will be penalized by up to 20 years in prison and a fine of $50,000.

READ ALSO:  Marijuana Advances of the 21st Century

The sale of marijuana to a minor is considered to be a very serious offense in Nevada. First time offenders will face up to 20 years of jail time, and second time offenders will be charged with a life sentence.

Contact Us

If you have been charged with a marijuana crime, then you will need a skilled criminal defense attorney on your side. The Las Vegas criminal defense lawyers of Palmer & Associates, P.C. have the experience necessary to protect you. To learn more, please visit today.


by Joseph Devine