Tarot Suits and Astrology

The Tarot Deck is made up of 78 cards, and these are divided into two sections, the Major Arcana, and the Minor Arcana. But, you knew that right? What you might not be aware of is, that the cards have influences which are associated with astrology, mainly the elements. It would take hours for you to read the influence of each card in this article, so we will start small.

Tarot cards are spilt up into suits, just like your lucky Poker deck. I will be referring to the Rider-Waite deck. It is the most widely known of the decks. The four suits are: Swords, Wands, Cups, and Pentacles.

READ ALSO:  Understanding the Emperor in Love Tarot Readings

Each of these suits are associated with the four elements of Astrology. You know them well: Air, Fire, Earth, and Water.

If you are not familiar with the characteristics of the astrological elements, here is a quick rundown of their characteristics:


Positive, Assertive, Determined, Active


Social, Intelligent, Doers, Communicators


Stable, Enduring, Structured, Introverted


Passive, Receptive, Reactive, Intuitive

Back to the tarot. Each suit is associated with one of these elements, hence the overall tone or influence of that particular suit reflects the astrological element’s characteristics. Still with me? Great. Here are the suits, and the element of which they are associated:

READ ALSO:  3 Groups of Pain Relievers For Gout and The Conspiracy of the Sickness Industry

Suit of Wands: Fire Element

Suit of Swords: Air Element

Suit of Cups: Earth Element

Suit of Pentacles: Water Element

Now you can put two and two together. The Wands suit is one of action and motivation, and the Swords suit is one of Achieving, Socialization, and your Mental Thinking. Well, you get the idea. Next time we will meet the Royal Court of the Tarot suits, and their elemental connections to Astrology.


by A. Astralis