Marijuana Penalties In Texas

The state of Texas has specific marijuana laws that help to stop the drug abuse that seems to be ongoing in the US. Most of the punishments for possession or selling marijuana depends on the amount of the drug that is being held or sold.

If you are caught in possession of 2 ounces or less of marijuana, it is considered a Class B Misdemeanor which is up to 180 days in jail and a $2,000 fine. Between 2 ounces and 4 ounces it then becomes a Class A Misdemeanor which is up to 1 year in jail. The person will also be required to pay up to $4,000 fine depending on what the judge decides. From 4 ounces up to 1 pound and from 1 pound up to 5 pounds of marijuana is what is called a state jail felony. This requires between 180 days and 2 years in a state facility with up to $10,000 fine issued by the judge.

If the person is caught with between 5 and 50 pounds then it is considered a third degree felony. This is punishable with 2 to 10 years in jail with up to a $10,000 fine which is also issued by the presiding judge. From 50 to 2,000 pounds is considered a second degree felony which is punishable between 2 to 20 years with up to $10,000 fine. Anything over 2,000 pounds is a full felony punishable between 5 to 99 years in jail with up to $50,000 fine decided upon by the judge.

The sale of marijuana works a bit differently. Any sale to a minor is an automatic felony up to 20 years of incarceration and up to a$10,000 fine decided on by a judge. Any gift of ¼ of an ounce or less is a Class B Misdemeanor with is punishable with up to 180 days in jail with up to $2,000 fine. Any sale of ¼ of an ounce or less becomes a Class A Misdemeanor which is can be punishable with up to 1 year in jail with an increased fine of $4,000. Up to 5 pounds of marijuana becomes a state jail felony. This is punishable with between 180 days and 2 years in jail and an increased fine of $10,000 fine.

Between 5 and 50 pounds becomes classified as a third degree felony with between 2 and 10 years of incarceration and the same amount of a fine. Anywhere between 50 and 2,000 pounds is classified as a second degree felony. The penalty will be anywhere from 2 to 20 years in jail with the same $10,000 fine. Any sale of 2,000 pounds or more is a felony with a minimum of 10 years and up to 99 years in jail. The fine then is raised to a maximum of $100,000.

If any of the above events happen within 1,000 feet from a school, all of the penalties will be increased drastically because of the proximity to children.

Proudly WWW.PONIREVO.COM

by Joseph Devine